Noah Hofman Named Ping Second Team All-American

Noah Hofman Named Ping Second Team All-American

Golfers, Coaches honored at NJCAA Championship banquet


FOLEY, Ala. — National and region awards were announced Sunday night at the banquet before the NJCAA Division II Men's Golf Championship.


The banquet, held at Wolf Bay Lodge in Foley, honored the field of 130 golfers from 43 schools participating in the event. The tournament is being hosted by Foley Sports Tourism,


There were 15 golfers named NJCAA Division II PING All-Americans. Ryan Bailey and Leon D'Souza of South Mountain, Meridian's Isaiah Jackson, Trey Tobias of Walters States, and Mississippi Gulf Coast's Brice Wilkinson were named PING First-Team All-America selections.


Second-team honorees included Tyler JC's Ethan Bozner, Austin Hardman of Mesa, Noah Hofman of Southeast CC, South Mountain's Jeffrey Miller, and Mississippi Gulf Coast's Jackson Wedgeworth.


Colby Blake of Mississippi Gulf Coast, Mitchel Fifer and Will Kidder of Meridian, Mott's Joe Montpas, and Alistair Snowdon of Murray State (OK) received honorable mention accolades.


The PING All-Region Teams were also announced. Alex Hodge, Walters State; Rasmus Konradsson, Andrew; Jeffrey Lewis, Oakland; Joe Montpas, Mott; Andrew Nagel, Abraham Baldwin; Josh Stephan, Grand Rapids; Trey Tobias, Walters State; and Tyler Vandenbrand, Muskegon were honored in the East Region.


Colby Blake, Mississippi Gulf Coast; Mitchell Fifer, Meridian; Isaiah Jackson, Meridian; Will Kidder, Meridian; Kristian Kristensen, Parkland; Austin Jump, Black Hawk; Jack Pring, Rend Lake; Jackson Wedgeworth, Mississippi Gulf Coast; Brice Wilkinson, Mississippi Gulf Coast; and Tyler Woods, Parkland were honored in the Central Region.


Ryan Bailey, South Mountain; Ethan Bozner, Tyler; Leon D'Souza, South Mountain; Owen Grimes, Murray State; Jacob Guess, Mesa; Austin Hardman, Mesa; Noah Hofman, Southeast; Tyler Kaman, Tyler; Jeffrey Miller, South Mountain; Niall Powell, Kirkwood; Alistair Snowdon, Murray State; and Will Traylor, Tyler were named All-West Region.


Brice Wilkinson of Mississippi Gulf Coast was named recipient of the Division II Phil Mickelson Outstanding Freshman Award.


Wilkinson, a freshman from Madison, Miss., won medalist at the NJCAA District D Champion­ship by five shots. He also had five other top-five finishes. Wilkinson has nine top 10 finishes in 11 tournaments. His stroke average is 72.44.


Leon D'Souza and Jeffrey Miller of South Mountain, Meridian's Mitchell Fifer, and Walters State's Trey Tobias joined Wilkinson on the All-Freshmen Team.


Black Hawk's Gary Huber was inducted to the NJCAA Division II Men's Golf Coaches Association Hall of Fame.


The 72-hole national championship is being played at GlenLakes Golf Club. It begins Monday, and NJCAA All-Americans will be named following the final round Thursday.


For more information on MGCCC's 10 intercollegiate athletic teams, follow @MGCCCAthletics on Twitter and BulldogLIVE on Facebook, and go to